Georgia’s outdoor burn ban has been lifted

October 2, 2023
1 min read
Georgia's outdoor burn ban has been lifted

The Gist: The seasonal burn ban in Georgia ceased as of October 1, reinstating outdoor burning in 54 counties under specific regulations.

The Details:

  • Affected Counties: Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Fulton, Gordon, Gwinnett, Hall, Haralson, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Lumpkin, Madison, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Richmond, Rockdale, Spalding, Troup, Twiggs, Upson, Walker, and Walton​.
  • Burn Ban Duration: Lasted from May 1 to September 30.
  • Objective: The ban aimed at preserving air quality and minimizing fire hazards during the warmest months.

In Context: The recurring burn ban in Georgia is a preventive strategy to manage air quality and fire risks during the summer. With its cessation, residents in the 54 counties the ban applies to can now engage in regulated outdoor burning.

Events Calendar

Georgia Newswire