Here’s Who is Running for Office in Each City in Habersham County

September 4, 2023
1 min read
Here's Who is Running for Office in Each City in Habersham County
Rob Crandall /

November 7 is the date for local elections in Habersham County, and the list of qualified candidates for various offices is now public. The lineup shows a mix of competitive races and seats where candidates are running unopposed.

Understanding Qualifying

Let’s first clarify what “qualifying” means. It’s the legal process candidates undergo to get their name on the ballot, including paperwork and eligibility checks. With that out of the way, let’s examine the list of candidates.

Alto’s Mayoral Contest

In the Town of Alto, the mayoral seat will be a race among incumbent Mayor P.J. Huggins, John Smith, and Patricia Gail Armour. On the other hand, incumbents James M. Turner and Eddie Palmer are running unopposed for Council Posts 2 and 4, respectively.

Baldwin’s Races

In Baldwin, two candidates, Tom Whitney and Stephanie Almagno, are vying for the mayoral position. In contrast, Erik Keith, Joseph Satterfield, and Kerri Dianne Davis are running unopposed for Council Posts 1, 2, and 3.

Clarkesville Council Seats

In Clarkesville, Council Post 2 is a race to watch. Incumbent Brad Coppedge is facing challengers Don Nix and Jessamie N. Vincent.

Cornelia’s Uncontested Races

In Cornelia, Mayor John Borrow, along with Mark Reed and Tony Cook for Commission Wards 1 and 4, are running unopposed, effectively securing those seats unless there’s an unexpected write-in campaign.

Demorest and Mount Airy

In Demorest, incumbent Donnie Bennett is up against Jimmy L. Davis and Jim Welborn for a council seat. Mount Airy also promises a competitive council member race with incumbents Adam Tullis and Christopher Keith Green running against Mike McCoy and Lerlene Dodd.

Disclosure: This article may contain affiliate links, meaning we could earn a commission if you make a purchase through these links.

Events Calendar

Georgia Newswire