Some Georgians will vote in a special election in June. Here’s why

Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger announced Friday the date of the special election required for House Districts 34 and 156 which became vacant with the resignation of Rep. Bert Reeves, a Republican from Marietta, and Rep. Greg Morris, a Republican from Vidalia.

The special election will be June 15. District 34 includes part of Cobb County, and District 156 includes Montgomery and Toombs counties and portions of Appling and Jeff Davis counties.

A run-off, if needed, will be July 13.

Qualifying for the special election will be in the Elections Division of the Office of Secretary of State at 2 MLK Jr. Dr., Suite 802, Atlanta on May 5 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., May 6 from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. and May 7 from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. The qualifying fee is $400.

May 17 is the last day to register to vote in the special election. Early voting will begin May 24.

What You Need to Know: These are elections for two state house districts. This is not to be confused with members of Congress. The two districts being decided during this election are your local members of the Georgia House of Representatives. They vote on state laws and the state budget, which determines how your tax dollars are spent.

GET UPDATES ON THIS STORY: Sign up for our free Email newsletter.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Two Georgia teenagers dead from apparent gunshot wounds